7 Simple Tips For Successful Wheelchair Camping

http://bit.ly/2HV2EC8

Camping as a wheelchair user can present many unique challenges, but few that a little planning and common sense can’t overcome. Over many camping trips I have fine-tuned a low-on-luxury approach that allows me, a C7-8 quad, to enjoy the wilderness and find that mental refreshment that only nature can provide. Here are seven tried-and-true techniques and equipment solutions.

1. Tarps, Not Tents

Instead of spending hundreds of dollars on one of the few tents designed for accessibility, a simple tarp can keep you out of the elements, provide ample coverage and be set up in a variety of ways to optimize views or privacy. Correctly set up, tarps make it easy to roll in and out and remove concerns about damaging the lip of a tent. There is a learning curve to setup, and it’s critical to know the ground and tree conditions where you are camping and whether a tarp-based setup will work there.

2. Cots Change Everything

A sizeable cot will be an excellent upgrade to your sleeping setup, making transfers easier and more stable and helping protect your skin. A foam pad will further boost your sleeping comfort and warmth. I also use my extra travel ROHO cushion under my hips to ensure a good night’s rest. If space is no obstacle, a queen-sized cot will bring more comfort and mobility. Lastly, cots are more reliable and quicker to set up than an oversized air mattress.

3. Well Ac-Quilted

I can recall no more terrifying a moment in the woods then waking up stuck in a sleeping bag. Tiny zippers and thin nylon just don’t mix well, especially for those with limited dexterity.

A backcountry quilt is made of the same materials as a traditional sleeping bag, but it doesn’t have a zipper and does have a pocket for your feet. I have used a backcountry quilt for well over a thousand miles of backpacking and now use it in the front country as bedding. If I am hot, it is easy to vent. If I’m cold, I tuck the quilt around me. You can get a very high quality custom quilt for less than or the same amount as a high end sleeping bag, due to less material and labor.